Black Mirror – 5 seasons [2011– ]


Description: Set in a world only minutes from our own, “Black Mirror” unveils how modern technologies can backfire and be used against their makers, every episode set in a slightly different reality with different characters combating different types of technologies.

Creator: Charlie Brooker

Stars: Daniel Lapaine, Hannah John-Kamen, Michaela Coel

Taglines: The future is bright.


  • Black mirror is a reference to the effect of a television or computer screen when switched off, giving a dark reflection of the onlookers.
  • From the second to the third season, the series changed from being a distinctly British show, with the exception of Jon Hamm in Season 2 Episode 4, Black Mirror: White Christmas (2014), to featuring American actors in most main roles. This was because the first two seasons were produced by British production company Zeppotron, whereas the third, fourth and fifth seasons were commissioned and produced by Netflix, an American company.
  • In Netflix’s War Machine (2017) featurette, Brad Pitt said he would do an episode of Black Mirror if there was one Netflix show he could be on.
  • Despite numerous references in different stories suggesting they all take place in the same universe, series creator Charlie Brooker has stated each episode is set in its own world (excluding possible sequels to specific stories).
  • Before the release date of season 4 was announced, Black Mirror’s Twitter account had been liking tweets about the show that were posted on December 29 from the previous years, which is the release date of season 4.
  • All user interfaces in the series use the font Proxima Nova.
  • Charlie Brooker said that despite the show’s themes, he loves technology. “It’s not waving a fist at the iCloud,” he added.
  • The song ‘Anyone Who Knows What Love Is’ by Irma Thomas is sung by one character in each season so far : “Black Mirror” (2011) {Black Mirror: Fifteen Million Merits (2011) (#1.2)}, “Black Mirror” (2011) {Black Mirror: White Christmas (2014) (#2.4)}, “Black Mirror” (2016) {Black Mirror: Men Against Fire (2016) (#3.5)}, “Black Mirror” (2017) {Black Mirror: Crocodile (2017) (#4.3)}, and “Black Mirror” (2019) {Black Mirror: Rachel, Jack and Ashley Too” (#5.3)}.
  • Episode 3.4, Black Mirror: San Junipero (2016), won 2 Emmy Awards for Outstanding Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special & Outstanding Television Movie.
  • At some point in each episode, a character says the word “oi”.
  • Letitia Wright was nominated for the 2018 Emmy Award in the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie category for her role as Nish in Black Mirror: Black Museum (2017), but lost to Merritt Wever from Godless (2017).
  • William Bridges & Charlie Brooker won the 2018 Emmy Award in the Outstanding Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Special category for Black Mirror: USS Callister (2017).
  • In season 3 episode 5, “Men against fire,” the language the villagers are speaking is Danish.
  • Hannah John-Kamen, Jerome Flynn, Faye Marsay, Donald Sumpter, Oona Chaplin, Tobias Menzies, Natalia Tena, and Francis Magee have all had recurring roles on Game of Thrones (2011).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Readings